Report, Capture and Pay: An Overview On Reporting Time Pay For Folsom Businesses and Employers
In California, there are over 17 million employees and 34,000 people employed in Folsom, alone. With such a large workforce in this state, especially in the Greater Sacramento area, there are various wage orders in place, specific to each industry.
Reporting Time Pay is outlined in the California Wage Orders creating a requirement for employers in Folsom, as well as the Greater Sacramento area. This requirement states that employers must pay employees for half of their scheduled shift with a minimum of 2 hours and a maximum of 4 hours from when they report to work and are either:
- not put to work
- or are furnished less than half of their usual or scheduled shift, including termination situations.
What Does Reporting Time Pay Mean For Employers?
Reporting Time Pay is to be paid at the employees’ regular rate of pay. It is important for employers to be mindful of Reporting Time pay as it is a mandatory payment. And failure to properly apply, can result in a violation.
Some examples of when employers may need to apply reporting time pay:
- Employee reports to work at their scheduled time and they are terminated. Further, such payment must be added to final wages which are due at the time of termination in California.
- Employee reports to work and there is not enough work to be done. Employees sent home must be paid reporting time pay.
- The employee is sent home early due to dissatisfaction with their work performance. Performing at a level the employer does not feel is acceptable does not create an exception to reporting time pay. A good way to gauge performance levels is by developing an effective performance review to ensure employee and company goals on a consistent basis.
Examples of when employers may not need to apply reporting time pay:
- The employee elects to leave early for personal reasons including illness.
- Public utilities fail to provide, water, gas or electricity.
- The ceasing of work is caused by an Act of God or otherwise out of the employer’s control.
- Operations cannot commence due to threats toward employees or property or under the direction of Civil Authorities.
Ways To Make The Most Of Reporting Time Pay Requirements
Consider assigning employees other tasks when work is slow; cleaning, filing, or organizing.
Due to Reporting Time Pay requirements, they will be paid anyhow so you may as well get something done. As a result of Reporting Time Pay requirements, it is important to ensure those processing payroll are properly informed when an employee is sent home early or when termination will occur at the beginning of a shift so that wages paid can reflect not only hours worked but also Reporting Time Pay to comply with your Wage Order requirements.
Recent Legislation: Smoke-Free Workplace
An extension of regulations related to smoking in the workplace has been passed through legislation that businesses in Folsom should be aware of. Also identifies the use of e-cigarettes and other nicotine delivery devices as “smoking”. Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Time: Both Los Angeles and San Diego have passed, this week, regulations which include more stringent regulations for Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave. Both are more employees favored than California State regulations.
Elmore HR Consulting Is Your Source For The Latest News & Notices On Employee Regulations. Contact us today for a free evaluation for custom HR projects, general guidance on employment law, Sacramento Employer regulations and all of your human resource needs!